Help and Support (Staff)

This is one of many help and support pages that are available about the University of Nottingham's Moodle online learning environment. If you have any questions or queries concerning Moodle then contact information is at the bottom of this one-page sheet. Please browse or use the SEARCH box below.

Go to Moodle

Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 11 Next »

Moodle Help & Support (Staff)

This refers to Moodle 3.6 from July 2019  onward.


Accessing submissions

  1. Navigate to the relevant module and click on the Moodle Assignment.
  2. Select View all submissions under the Grading Summary tab.

  3. The next page is the student submission information table. Select all students who have submitted for grading. It may be quicker to Select All and untick those who have not submitted.
  4. Scroll to the bottom and from the From the With selected… dropdown menu select Lock submissions and then press Go.

  5. A pop-up message will appear asking if you want to lock all selected submissions. Press OK.

    The submissions will now be locked. This is very important because it bans students from resubmitting any more versions of their assignment.

    Once that is done press the Grade button of a student you wish to mark. 


  6. On the student's submission information page, click on the assignment attachment so you can download and read it. 



  7. When you are ready to mark, navigate to Grade out of 100 and input your score.


  8. If you have enabled Feedback comments you will be able to type your feedback directly into the textbox provided.



     
  9. If you have enabled Feedback Files, you will be able to upload a feedback sheet (that you have already prepared offline) by drag-dropping it into the available upload box.



  10. If you are happy that you have completed your marking, click Save changes

  11. N.B. You can use the Reset button to start again as it will remove all scores/feedback comments and attached feedback files.

  12. Use the Change User box at the top-right of the screen to move on to the next students. You can do this by using the blue right/left triangles OR by typing the beginning of the student's name.
  13. Alternatively, you can click on the black triangle (downward facing) and select a student from the drop-down menu.

  14. Return to the Assignment main page by clicking on its Name in the top left (see above).


  15. rherherhre

  16. efefe





Editing

If you need to access the Moodle assignment settings then you can do so by clicking on the cog icon located in the top-left corner.

  • In the assignment, press the View all submissions in the Grading Summary page. 

Releasing all marks to students at once 

  1. When you are ready to release all marks and feedback to students click on the assignment breadcrumb link in the top-left corner. 



    The Grading summary page will load, press the View all submissions button. 



  2. The student submission information table page will then load. Scroll down to the Options section and ensure that Assignments per page is set to All. This is to ensure all students are selected. 

    Check the tick box beneath the Select column on the table. This should then check the boxes of all students. 


  3. Scroll down a little until you reach the With selected… dropdown menu and select Set marking workflow state, then press Go



    A pop up box will appear asking Set marking workflow state for all selected submissions? press OK

  4. A page will be loaded that lists all the students. Below all the student names is a drop-down menu called Marking workflow state, from the options select Released.



    You can also choose to Notify students in the drop-down menu below by selecting Yes. If you select Yes then the student will receive an email to say the mark has been released. If you would rather email them or post a message in the Announcements forum then leave this set to No

  5.  When you have selected Released and decided whether to notify the students press the Save changes button. 

    The page that contains all the submission information for students on the module will be loaded. In the Status column you should see that the status has now been changed to Released. This confirms that the marks have been released to the students. 


    Similar tutorials

    The following other resources are also relevant to this topic:

  • No labels