Moodle Help & Support
This refers to Moodle 3.11 from August 2022 onward
Moodle editing icons
Step by step
Navigate to your module (course) and click the 'Turn editing on' button (top right).
A number of icons will appear all over the page.
While this can at first appear overwhelming, the icons are the same few repeated, so they will soon become simple to understand and use.
- To edit the name/title of a resource or activity, click the 'Edit' icon (pencil) at the end of the name of the item
- To move an item, click and hold the '+' icon at the left of the name of the item and drag it to where you want it
- Click the Edit button at the end of the line to drop down an edit menu to access other editing functions
When you have finished editing the Moodle page and it's contents, you will need to click on the 'Turn editing off' button at the top of the page
The recycle bin
Moodle has a Recycle bin from which you can restore content that has been deleted. The recycle bin can be found at the bottom of the 'Course Administration menu' (Cogwheel icon). Once something has been deleted, there’s a delay (of about 5 minutes) for Moodle to prepare it, then it will be available for restore (it’s not an Undo solution).
Content is kept for 24 hours in the Recycle Bin.