Help and Support (Staff)

This is one of many help and support pages that are available about the University of Nottingham's Moodle online learning environment. If you have any questions or queries concerning Moodle then contact information is at the bottom of this one-page sheet. Please browse or use the SEARCH box below.

Go to Moodle

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Moodle Help & Support 

This refers to Moodle 3.2 from Sept 2017 onward

How to: Backup a module (course)

It can be useful to backup your module (course) when you've done a lot of work. An appropriate point might be just before you make it available to students when all the resources and activities are set up ready.  Having a backup could help later on if there is a problem.

N.B. It is not recommended that editing teachers restore these backups on their own. Should you need to do so please contact learning-technologies@nottingham.ac.uk.

How to backup a module (course) in Moodle 

  1. Within the module you wish to back up click on Backup which can be found within Moodle Administration block on the left hand side of the screen. 
  2.    
  3. On the next screen select the type of information you wish to backup by clicking within the appropriate check boxes. Click Next once you are done.    
      
  4. On the next screen you can choose which materials or sections will NOT to be backed up here by un-ticking the relevant boxes - but if you want a "snapshot" of your module, simply backup everything. Click Next.  
     
     On the next screen change the filename if desired but it is recommended to retain the date and time (do not change the file extension)

5. Then click Perform Backup and wait for Moodle to finish backing up your module (course). 

6. A message appears "The backup file was successfully created." You will then be presented with a Continue button.  This means the back up has been successful.  The Continue button takes you to the Restore area where the back-up files are stored. You can then click to download a copy of the backup file to your own computer if you wish (Moodle will only store a few, and will overwrite early ones with later ones so if you backup a lot, arrange for offline storage and download the backup files - they may be quite large!).

We recommend that you consult the Learning Technologies team before undertaking a Restore. There is a serious risk of overwriting module (course) logs and contents if restored incorrectly.

If you wish to return to the module (course) click on the module (course) name at the top of the screen.

Note: If, when clicked, this button gives you an error message it just means you do not have the rights to Restore.

Notes about backup 

  • If enrolled users are not included in the backup, activities to which students have contributed are not fully exported: if restored, the content will be missing and only the structural framework is transferred. For databases and glossaries, this content can be exported and re-imported but there is currently no way to reproduce a wiki or a forum with students entries in from a previous module (course) other than by cutting and pasting. Contributions belong to the user not the module (course).
  • To fully backup the module (course) with student-generated content, then enrolled users need to be included. This should not be restored other than by the Learning Technologies Section staff.
  • If enrolled users are not included then the backup file will be saved to the user's private backup area, where it will be available to you from any module.