School Support role in Moodle
What can you do?
This role is similar to the Editing Teacher role given to teaching staff but extends across a whole category, which is typically a School but may be a sub-category (such as a department or subdivisions such as a particular programme, Level 1, Undergraduate etc.). You should be guided by the person in your School with Category Manager role if there is one.
Essentially you have editing access to all modules stored within your category and any subcategories. You can:
- create assignments and activities
- upload files
- amend some of the module settings on behalf of teaching staff
- backup modules for safe-keeping
- import/copy materials from one module to another, e.g., from the 12-13 module to the new 13-14 module
Important things to be aware of concerning your access rights
There are a few things to be aware of, as this role comes with permission to amend, edit and create.
You must have participated in a Key Moodle Basics course before starting to work in Moodle as School Support. If you haven’t done this yet, you can sign up at https://training.nottingham.ac.uk/cbs-notts/Guests/GuestCourse.aspx?CourseRef=STFMOODLE
2. Student (and staff) privacy and copyright
Discretion is required when able to see materials and postings relating to intellectual property owned by the University as well as assignments and private comments from students. Those with School Support role are expected to be aware of and sensitive to staff and student privacy and copyright issues.
Policy on Release of personal information
3. Deleting resources
You will be able to edit and delete all the items in these modules. There’s no “Undo” in Moodle so we recommend extreme care when working in a module for which you are not the convenor.
If you are deleting materials from a module ensure it is the correct resource. When you click on the ‘Delete’ icon Moodle will ask you if you are sure and wish to continue. Once you click on the ‘Continue’ button the resource will be deleted completely from Moodle.
4. Backing up a module
Your role allows you to backup a module (see Workspace>Moodle Help for guidance on backing up modules) but not to restore. When backing-up a module and activities, once you click the button ‘Perform backup’ a ‘Continue’ button will then appear. This means the backup has been successful.
NOTE: If you click the ‘Continue’ button an error message will appear. Please ignore this - your backup will have been successful. [The reason for this is that the School Support role does not have the rights to Restore a backup, so you will not be able to see your backups. Should you need a backup to be restored please contact email@example.com.]
If you need to restore a module please contact either firstname.lastname@example.org or your local Category Manager.
When you look through your School category at the list of modules you may notice some modules that have either a [p] or a [c] at the end of the module name. These are the parent [p] and child [c] modules that form a metamodule. A metamodule is a group of two or more modules taught jointly; they have the same content (but potentially different credits) and therefore only require one Moodle module for students to refer to. Only the Category Manager role and above can create and delete metamodules.
NOTE: Usually, teaching staff and teaching and learning materials should ONLY be enrolled/uploaded to the parent module; NOT the child module (unless BOTH are being used for different things).
You should NOT be enrolled onto any module in your School category. In other words, you will not be able to see modules on your My Moodle/My home page.
If you are enrolled as Editing Teacher or in any other role in any module in your category or a subcategory, please unenrol yourself (see Workspace>Moodle Help for guidance on unenrolment).
As you are not enrolled on any modules your Module Overview listing on your My Home page will probably be blank. To navigate to your School category modules do the following:
- In the Navigation block in the left-hand column, click on the ‘Site home’ link.
- This link opens up a list of categories with their subcategories indented. Scroll down until you have found your School or Department or Division and click the link. This will open up a list of all modules.
- To enter a module click on the module title. This will open the module’s front page displaying all the materials.
Suggestion: Bookmark the URL of your category – it’s something you will come back to often.
You can also create a block on your Home Page which links to your most used modules. (Search Workspace for “Moodle custom block”)
Equella is the pilot for file storage connected to Moodle. There are three Equella filestores, for UK, Malaysia and China. This ensures quicker local file downloads and uploads to Moodle while also making it possible for files to made available across all campuses should you wish. The introduction of Equella should not affect how you or Editing Teachers upload files to Moodle. However, there will be a few more options to choose from, such as:
- In addition to browsing your desktop for new files you can search for documents previously uploaded (and now stored in Equella instead of Moodle).
- You can select additional Moodle users to have access to a particular file (in addition to all those currently on the module) either individuals or all those enrolled on another named module.
- When a new version is uploaded you can choose whether you want the file to be updated across all modules it is present in or remain fixed/locked within one module only.
Search workspace for “Moodle share Equella”
This service allows you to easily upload and share media files in Moodle (and, in fact, directly and on other websites). You can enable all other teaching staff in Moodle to reuse your media files, or enable only staff teaching on your module(s) to reuse your media files. You can also ask your students to submit media assignments. (Search workspace for “Moodle audio and video”.)
End of year processes and rollover
- SATURN Modules for the year 13-14 are being created automatically from SATURN. (If you were an editing teacher last year you will be automatically added this year)
- You will have the ability to request a new module (if it's not a SATURN module) - by clicking a button - it will then be created automatically and available to you within about a day.
- Look out for the Year End & Archive block in the left-hand column
- It is important that staff do not re-use or edit the existing modules for the NEW session as existing modules will be archived "as taught"
Some will be starting from scratch: others bringing existing content into the new module. If you are transferring your own materials please follow the instructions in Workspace Help
The 13-14 modules will shortly be recategorised as Archive and become "Read-only". You will still be able to import content from the 13-14 module but not be able to make changes.
Archive date: It is possible to extend the archive date if the module has a non-standard end date. See separate information on rollover and archiving. (Search Workspace for “Moodle rollover”)