This is one of many help and support pages that are available about the University of Nottingham's Moodle online learning environment. If you have any questions or queries concerning Moodle then contact information is at the bottom of this one-page sheet. Please browse or use the SEARCH box below.
This applies to Moodle 3.6 from July 2019
Moodle Help & Support
How to move items around the Moodle page
You can easily drag and drop items to move them around a Moodle page. To do this, click on the Turn editing on button (top right).
Click and hold to drag the crossed arrows icon next to the section or resource you'd like to move. (indicated on the left of the screenshot below)
Cross / crossed arrows: Click on and hold down this iconto drag items around the page
Other editing icons
Pencil: This will edit the title of the resource. Make sure you press Enter to save your changes.
Edit settings: This will give you access to the full range of settings for the resource or activity.
Move right: This will indent an item to the right hand side. (Once the Move right option is used, the Move left option will be added to the Edit drop-down menu)
Hide: This makes the item unavailable to students. (The other options are Show to make it fully visible or Make available which hides it in that particular spot but makes it possible to link to from elsewhere in the module, in the way that orphaned activities used to be linkable: now called stealth activity.)
Duplicate: This copies the item, which will then appear below. This is useful for creating multiple items that might share similar information.
Assign roles: By assigning a role to a user in a context, you are granting them the permissions contained in that role, for the current context and all lower contexts. For example, if a user is assigned the role of student in a module, they will also have the role of student for all activities and blocks within the module .
Delete: This removes the item. Be sure that you wish to delete the item, as it can be retrieved only for a limited time after deletion. It is kept for 24 in the Recycle bin and after that time is gone for good (please contact firstname.lastname@example.org with any problems)
To restore an item from the Recycle bin
If an item is accidentally deleted, wait a few minutes for it to appear in the Recycle bin.
- Click the cogwheel for the Course Administration menu
- Scroll down to click Recycle bin
- In the Recycle bin, you will see the deleted item(s)
- Click on the arrow to restore
- The item will reappear at the bottom of the section it was deleted from
The following other resources are also relevant to this topic: